90 minutes to go for the title race

Given that there is so much at stake and given that so many matches could have an impact on other teams, there will be seven LaLiga Santander fixtures taking place simultaneously at 6pm CEST on Saturday evening. In the title race, Real Madrid host Villarreal CF, who still have something to play for too as they want to secure Europa League football instead of entry to the inaugural Conference League. Meanwhile, Atlético de Madrid visit Real Valladolid, who are fighting for their lives as one of the teams in that aforementioned relegation battle.  

Atleti know that if they win at the José Zorrilla then they will be champions no matter what happens elsewhere. But, if they fail to win at Valladolid then Real Madrid can pip them to the post with a victory over Villarreal. It could hardly be tighter.  

Atleti are used to doing things the hard way. Not only did they have to produce an epic comeback to defeat Osasuna 2-1 in the previous matchday, but, spooling further back, nine of the 10 Spanish championships they have won in their history have been decided on the final day. The last one was in 2013/14, when Diego Godín’s famous goal at the Camp Nou made history.  

Funnily enough, Real Madrid have actually never managed to win the title when entering the final day in second position. On 10 occasions, they came into the final round in second and with mathematical possibilities of becoming champions, in 1934, 1935, 1936, 1953, 1960, 1966, 1981, 1984, 2010 and 2016. In this incredible season of firsts, it might be 11th time lucky for Los Blancos!  

Tagged : /