JUST IN: Ismail Sabri Appointed As PM9!


(Kuala Lumpur, Aug 20) Istana Negara has just released a press statement announcing Ismail Sabri as the 9th Prime Minister of Malaysia.

This comes after the Malay Rulers attended a special meeting at Istana Negara called by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to discuss and decide which MP to appoint as the ninth prime minister. Three people had been publicly named to be in the running, namely UMNO vice-president Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, Pakatan Harapan chief Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Parti Warisan Sabah president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal.

Prior to this, all 220 MPs were requested to submit statutory declarations to Istana Negara by 4pm on Aug 18 (Wednesday) to state their support on who should be prime minister. The process to appoint a new PM comes following Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin’s resignation from the post on Aug 16 (Monday).

Ismail Sabri will be sworn in tomorrow, Aug 21 (Saturday) at 2:30pm at Istana Negara.

Official media statement:

More to follow…