Spanish clubs unanimously and forcefully reject the Super League format

MADRID, April 22, 2021 — LaLiga met yesterday with the 39 clubs not invited to be part of the European Super League to discuss the recent proposal for this format. 

The present clubs at the meeting unanimously and strongly rejected the plans for this competition. All clubs firmly believe in sporting merit as the sole criteria to qualify to international club competitions through domestic leagues.  

Today football fans across Europe can dream that their club, no matter the size, may excel, climb to the top and compete at the pinnacle of European football. This European tradition of football for all is paramount and should not be threatened or changed.  

Global resistance over the past few days has proven that a closed, elitist league is unviable and unwanted. The reaction proves just how much the open ecosystem and football community means to people. 

LaLiga and the clubs gathered today want to thank everyone involved for the support they have shown this week on this significant issue. 

LaLiga will continue to work with stakeholders including fan groups, government, UEFA, the RFEF, AFE and European Leagues to protect the best interests of the game and calls on those clubs still involved in the proposed competition to cease their involvement immediately.   

Signed by: Athletic Club, CA Osasuna, Cádiz CF, Deportivo Alavés, Elche CF, Getafe CF, Granada CF, Levante UD, RC Celta, Real Betis, Real Sociedad, Real Valladolid CF, SD Eibar, SD Huesca, Sevilla FC, Valencia CF, Villarreal CF; AD Alcorcón, Albacete BP, CD Castellón, CD Leganés, CD Lugo, CD Mirandés, CD Tenerife, CE Sabadell, CF Fuenlabrada, FC Cartagena, Girona FC, Málaga CF, Rayo Vallecano, RCD Espanyol de Barcelona, RCD Mallorca, Real Oviedo, Real Sporting, Real Zaragoza, SD Ponferradina, UD Almería, UD Las Palmas, UD Logroñés. 

Tagged : / /